About FoFCL

About Friends of the Florence County Library

 The Friends of the Florence County Library was born in 1965 when local citizens organized to offer as much support to our hometown library as possible, becoming what would be one of the oldest such organizations in the entire state. The group is a 501(c) 3 organization.

The Mission Statement adopted by the group details the form the support of our library would take:

MISSION:   “The purpose of the Organization shall be to establish closer relations between the Florence County Library System and the people it serves; to promote informed interest in its functions, resources, services and needs; to confer with the Trustees and the Staff of the Library on matters relating to the welfare of the institution; to stimulate gifts, endowments and bequests to the Library; and to support the development of a program for the extension and improvement of the Library’s services and resources.”

By-Laws for the Friends of the Florence County Library

Today, the Friends is an active group, supporting program licenses, outreach programs, grant support, supplementary supplies, Staff support, and onsite author visits. Additionally, as a member of the Friends of South Carolina Libraries, its Board maintains contact with Friends groups across the state, providing up-to-date ideas for Friends’ best practices.


2021 Friends of the Florence County Library Board Members:

Jo Etta Chewning, President Jammie McDonald, Treasurer
Leslie Denton, Vice President Donna Owens, Secretary
—— ——
Christina O’Malley Steve Camlin
Blake Taylor Bill Taylor
Michael Thomas Mindy Steinkruger
Roger Hux

Advisory Members:

Mary Wiser, Executive Director Aubrey Carroll, Chief of Headquarters Library Services



Contact the Friends at fofcl@florencelibrary.org

Friends of Florence County Library
509 South Dargan Street
Florence, South Carolina 29506